# **KANKAKEE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 111 BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES** May 2, 2017

A special meeting of the Board of Education of Kankakee School District No. 111, Kankakee County, Illinois, was held at 6:00 p.m. in the Auditorium at Lincoln Cultural Center, 240 Warren Avenue, Kankakee, Illinois.

Special Meeting

## **ROLL CALL**

Roll Call

Members present: John Coghlan

Jess Gathing, Jr.

Karen Johnston, President

Angela Shea

Barbara Wells, Secretary

Members absent: Amelia Davis

Joseph Lightfoot

A quorum was declared present.

Meeting with the Board was:

Dr. Genevra A. Walters, Superintendent Robert Grossi, Assistant Superintendent Felice Hybert, Assistant Superintendent Dr. Kathleen O'Connor, Assistant Superintendent Vicki Scott, Recording Clerk

News reporter, Mr. John Dykstra, was present from *The Daily Journal*.

## **Public Comments**

No public comments were made.

Public Comments

Board

Election

# **School Board Election** The results of the April 4, 2017 election were presented for certification, and the following individuals

were proclaimed members of the Board of Education:

- Mary L. Archie
- Jess C. Gathing, Jr.
- Joseph W. Lightfoot
- **Darrell Williams**

Motion was made by Wells seconded by Gathing, to certify the canvassed votes as presented. ROLL CALL VOTE--Ayes: Coghlan, Gathing, Shea, Wells, and Johnston. Nays: none. Motion carried.

## Oath of Office

Karen Johnston, Board President, administered the Oath of Office to the newly-elected Board members.

Oath of Office

### **Adjournment of Old Board**

President Johnston requested a motion to adjourn the Board sine die.

Motion was made by Wells, seconded by Gathing, to adjourn the Board sine die. ROLL CALL VOTE—

Adjournment

(page 2 of 4)

Ayes: Gathing, Shea, Wells, Coghlan, and Johnston. Nays: none. Motion carried.

President Johnston presented John Coghlan with a small token of appreciation and thanked him for his years of service to the District. Mr. Coghlan thanked everyone for the opportunity to serve on the Board. He appreciated the Board's support and camaraderie over the last six years. He stated that he believes the District is moving forward and that the best decision this Board made was the hiring of Dr. Walters.

Presentation of Gift

#### Seating of New Members

President Pro Tem

Roll

Call

## **Seating of New Board Members**

The following newly-elected Board Members were seated on the Board: Mary L. Archie, Jess C. Gathing, Jr., and Darrell Williams.

#### **President Pro Tem**

President Johnston requested nominations for President Pro Tem.

#### 1. President Pro Tem

President Johnston nominated Barbara Wells for President Pro Tem.

Motion was made by Johnston, seconded by Gathing, to nominate Barbara Wells as President Pro Tem. ROLL CALL VOTE—Ayes: Archie, Gathing, Johnston, Shea, Williams, and Wells. Nays: none. Motion carried.

### Roll Call

President Pro Tem, Barbara Wells, called the meeting to order and requested a roll call.

Members present: Mary L. Archie

Jess C. Gathing, Jr. Karen Johnston Angela Shea Barbara Wells Darrell Williams

Members absent: Joseph Lightfoot

A quorum was declared present.

#### **Election of Officers**

President Pro Tem, Wells, called for the election of officers.

#### Election of Officers

## 1. President

Barbara Wells was nominated for Board President by Karen Johnston.

Hearing no other nominations, a motion was made by Johnston, seconded by Gathing, to elect Barbara Wells as the new Board President. ROLL CALL VOTE—Ayes: Gathing, Johnston, Shea, Williams, Archie, and Wells.

### 2. Vice President

Karen Johnston was nominated as Board Vice President by Jess Gathing.

Hearing no other nominations, a motion was made by Gathing, seconded by Shea, to elect Karen Johnston as the new Board Vice President. ROLL CALL VOTE—Ayes: Johnston, Shea, Williams, Archie, Gathing, and Wells.

# 3. Secretary

Angela Shea was nominated for Board Secretary by Jess Gathing.

Hearing no other nominations, a motion was made by Gathing, seconded by Johnston, to elect Angela Shea as the new Board Secretary. ROLL CALL VOTE—Ayes: Shea, Williams, Archie, Gathing, Johnston, and Wells.

### **Board of Education Meeting Schedule**

The 2017-2018 Board of Education Meeting Schedule was presented for approval. (See Insert A.)

Motion was made by Gathing, seconded by Johnston, to approve the 2017-2018 Board of Education Meeting Schedule as presented. ROLL CALL VOTE—Ayes: Archie, Gathing, Johnston, Shea, Williams, and Wells. Nays: none. Motion carried.

## **Committee Assignments**

The following Committee/Representative Assignments for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 were made:

### 1. Board Committees

Barbara Wells as Board President serves on each of the above listed committees.

## 2. District Committee Representatives

•	Curriculum	. Angela Shea/Barbara Wells
•	Insurance	Jess Gathing/Barbara Wells
•	Head Start Policy Council	Angela Shea
•	IASB Governing	Barbara Wells
•	Kankakee Area Career Center	Karen Johnston
•	Parent/Community Council	Mary Archie/Darrell Williams
•	Technology Committee	Barbara Wells

## **Adopt-a-School Assignments**

The following Adopt-A-School assignments for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 were made:

Edison Primary School	Karen Johnston
Lincoln Cultural Center/Montessori/Fine Arts	Darrell Williams
Mark Twain Primary School	Barbara Wells
Steuben Elementary School	
Taft Primary School	Angela Shea
Kennedy Middle Grade School	Darrell Williams
King Middle Grade School	Jess Gathing/Karen Johnston
Kankakee Junior High School	Barbara Wells/Joseph Lightfoot
Kankakee High School	Mary Archie/Jess Gathing
IMPACT/CIPS Programs	
Proegler School	

BOE Meeting Schedule

Committee Assignments

Adopt-A-School Assignments

Board of Education Minutes-May 2, 2017 (continued)
--

(page 4 of 4)

ı	KFT	Inforr	nal N	/leetir	na Sa	he	dul	e

The Board reviewed the KFT Informal Meeting Schedule and stated no objections to the schedule as presented.

KFT Informal Meeting Schedule

At 6:34 p.m. motion was made by Johnston, seconded by Gathing, to adjourn the meeting. All ayes; motion carried.

Adjourn

SIGNED:

Barbara A. Wells, President

ATTEST:

Angela F. Shea, Secretary

Approved: May 8, 2017